News & Media > Newsroom > Current News > Aviation Authority welcomes four members to board

Aviation Authority welcomes four members to board

Four people have been appointed to the Charleston County Aviation Authority Board with terms that were effective June 1, 2014.

New members are Margaret Seidler and Henry B. Fishburne Jr. Reappointed to the board were William D. "Billy" Swails and Helen T. Hill.

The Charleston County Aviation Authority is a special purpose district created by the state of South Carolina to operate and manage the airports in the Charleston Airport District.

The Aviation Authority District is governed by a 13-member board whose members are selected for four-year terms by the Charleston County Legislative Delegation (approved by the governor), Charleston County Council and the Charleston City Council. Serving as ex-officio members are the mayors of the cities of Charleston and North Charleston and town of Mount Pleasant, the chairman of Charleston County Council and the chairman and vice chairman of the Charleston County Legislative Delegation.

Seidler is a nationally recognized organization development consultant, master trainer and author. Her practice focuses on creating higher performance in both organization and community systems. In 2008, her first book, "Power Surge: A Conduit for Enlightened Leadership" was published by the Human Resource Development Press, Amherst, Mass.

Seidler serves on the board of the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce and is chairman of the Mayor’s Task Force, Stand Up Charleston, for crime prevention through citizen engagement. Seidler also serves as adjunct faculty for the University of Notre Dame’s Executive Education Center in the Mendoza College of Business.

Fishburne is a real estate broker, investor and developer as well as retired attorney. He has served on numerous public boards and was a Charleston city councilman from 1999 to 2007. He was mayor pro tempore in 2007.

Fishburne’s other public service includes serving on the boards of the Urban Land Institute, Charleston Charter School of Math and Science,

MUSC Children’s Hospital, Hospice of Charleston, the Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments and the Charlestowne Neighborhood Association.

Swails is a lifelong resident, having grown up and raised his family in Mount Pleasant. He served as mayor of Mount Pleasant from 2009 to 2013, during which time he also served on the CCAA board. Before being elected mayor, he served on Mount Pleasant Town Council for 11 years, collectively. He also has served on the Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments, the Charleston Area Regional Development Alliance, the Patriots Point Development Authority and the Charleston County Transportation Committee. Swails is a State Farm insurance agent.

Hill is the executive director of the Charleston Area Convention and Visitors Bureau. In 1986, when she began with the CVB, there were approximately 1 million visitors a year. Today, there are more than 4.76 million visitors with an economic impact of $2.8 billion.

Hill is credited with creating and nurturing new market segments including heritage, golf, culinary, destination weddings and the recruitment of major sporting events including the Family Circle Cup, Davis Cup, World Cup of Golf, the Senior PGA and PGA Championship. Hill serves on numerous boards and commissions including the Southeastern Wildlife Exposition, Wells Fargo Bank Advisory Board, Charleston Wine and Food Festival and the South Carolina Association of Tourism Regions.
Disclaimer | 5500 International Blvd. #101, North Charleston, S.C., 29418-6911| | 843-767-7000
Powered by DataSpring